the time I burned 1154 calories in one workout

So my half marathon is done. Finished. Boom.

Katie and I kicked serious ass. Running around a 10:30/mile average, we were thrilled when we found out we finished in the top 40% of runners. As first time runners, HELL YEAH, we did it!

Starting 11 weeks ago, I was in a serious rut. I didn’t think I had a chance of being able to run! No way. No way could I run 3 miles, much less 13.1. (And yes, that .1 made a world of difference, let me tell ya.)

The training schedule was hard. It meant working out…a lot. It meant waking up and giving my time to the sunrise. As a newly single girl who would have preferred to wallow in sleep and sadness, this was not my cup of tea.

I want to make this a large, large thank you. THANK YOU to Molly and Steph. I would NOT have completed strength training without you, thus I would not have completed my half. You two were the best workout partners ever. We did “killer workout” Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays at 7:00 a.m.. Killer workout is 100 jumping jacks, 90 crunches, 80 squats, 70 leg lifts, 60 jumping jacks, 50 crunches, 40 squats, 30 leg lifts, 20 jumping jacks and 10 pushups. Let me tell you two things: it’s damn hard, and those 10 pushups are the last thing you want to do when you finish exhausting all other muscles and have absolutely zero upper arm strength. But they were my first two physical motivators. They told me I could do it, I believed them, and bam. We did it. We all benefited, and I’m so glad.

Thank you to Kerri! She made our fabulous training schedule (pictured above.) As an accomplished half/marathon runner herself, we trusted her with the decisions. As a fellow vegetarian, she kept on us about what we needed to be eating, and I’m so grateful for her! Ker and I got coffee this morning and she laughed when she said “I know you’re a half marathon runner for life now.” She’s right. Yesterday, I swore up and down I’d never do another. Today…different story 🙂

Thank you to Michael, Rachel, Charlie and Brandon. You four seemed to genuinely care about my running. You asked me how my runs went and legitimately listened. All four of you gave me sound advice when I asked for it (and when I didn’t,) and I’m so grateful that you all listened to me complain about the working out/dieting/muscle pain/”I don’t wanna”‘s. You four kept me on track, so thank you 🙂

Now, the most important. Katie, you inspire me still. My best friend since third grade, I have watched you struggle through diets and workouts and things that just never seemed to work. When I saw you at Christmas, you took my breath away. You were happy and healthy and you made me want to change my ways. We still fight over who pushed the race, but really it was both of us. We did it. We actually finished a HALF. MARATHON.

For two ex-food addicts, I’d say we did pretty effing well. Your food habits are admirable and you make me want to keep doing this forever, because even though it was hell, it was a hell that I could not imagine living without or doing without you by my side. You are the best friend ever, you make me want to be a healthy human, and I loved eating absolutely terribly with you post-race. I LOVE YOU!

So, what’s next for me and racing? I’d like to do a 5k when I get to Denver and then I’ll think about training for (gasp!) another half in the late spring. It’s just a great way to stay in shape, meet new people and have a say in what I put into my body and how I expel the energy. I’m thrilled to say that I am a half marathon finisher: two hours and 21 minutes I’ll never get back covered in sweat. One broken iPod, a twisted ankle and slight dehydration will not change that for me.

If you’re interested in doing a half marathon and are looking for tips as a beginner, I’m super into answering any questions I can. Don’t be afraid to ask 🙂 If I can do it, anyone can. Literally.

3 thoughts on “the time I burned 1154 calories in one workout

  1. I am so proud of you both and would love to run a race with you some day! So great to see you this morning! Sending you so much love and luck! Xoxo

  2. Makes me want to run another one!! The first one for me was not this great, but neither was my discipline in training. You girls inspire me! Congrats and keep it up!!

  3. Pingback: new year, new you « miss halfway

Leave a Reply

