mirror, mirror on the wall…

This post is entirely in reference to this post. I’m very self-involved…aka I want to talk about myself and I want you to ask me questions about myself so I can talk about myself more. Deal with it.

Can I just stop for a minute and thank everyone? I was shocked to receive as many emails as I did! Thanks, loves! You make me feel validated.

  1. Which is Britney’s best danced video?
    Ladies and gentlemen, I start off with this because A – someone is smart enough to ask me B – I have watched every single video of hers religiously (seriously, how did nobody see this as a giant red flag in Straightworld?) and C – it’s pretty important.
    Stronger-Britney-Spears_lI have to say that I gave this a lot of thought (judge away, haters) because my favorite danced video of Miss American Dream is not, in fact, my favorite video of hers. I have to say that the video that takes the cake for the dancing goes to Stronger.

    Try and tell me you don’t think that was hard and that she’s not hot. Just. Try.
  2. East coast vs. west coast?
    This is a hard one. Mostly because I don’t know anything about the East Coast except so many people that I love live there. I’ve been to Washington, D.C. once and the Carolinas. They’re hardly coastal. I am, on the other hand, obsessed with California. So…there you have it.
  3. What’s the one thing in your life that you have always been too busy for, didn’t have the energy for right now or put it off for “tomorrow” that you’ve always wanted to do?
    Ha! That list is quite possibly endless. Exhibit A would tell me to apply for a career, not a job. My parents would probably say the same. I would have to say…I am big on saying I wanna create art and yet I never do it. I wish I would take more time and remind myself I minored in fine art photography. That means something, artists, I too can take photos. Yet here I sit in a home with none on the walls. Hmph.
  4. Can you see yourself going back to dating men, or not really?  We talked about the difference between hetero, homo, and pan-sexual, but where do you fall?
    Well, shucks. I love every single thing about this question. For the first time in my life, I can honestly say that I haven’t thought about who I’m going to date in the future. Even when I was with my fiance, people would ask and I would answer who I thought was good looking, who I had dated in the past, and who I could see myself dating. Interestingly enough, I truly don’t have an answer to that. I think that I would define myself as “queer.” When you hear the LGBTQ model, you thing L = lesbian, woman dates woman. G = gay, man dates man. B = bisexual, man/woman dates man/woman. T = transgendered, born into one sex but internally identifying with another gender. Then there’s Q. Most people don’t know what to do with queer. It used to be (and lezbehonest, still is) a derogatory term. Queer is kind of like the be-all-end-all in the homo/questioning/somewhere in between world, I think. It can encompass all. Lots of women I know say they’re gay, not many men say they’re lesbians…it’s all where someone feels the most comfortable. I’d say that I fit under queer because I’m not really 100% either way. I don’t feel like I’m bisexual, I know that right now if I had to choose for the rest of my life I would say women, but hey, what if that changes? A few years ago, I would have said men, even if there were doubts. So…queer. I think that’s where I fit in. As for dating after Exhibit A, I’m not mentally in that place to say. I’m so happy my thoughts sprout flowers and my heart does jumping jacks when I think about my future with her, so it’s safe to say she’s not going anywhere any time soon.
  5. Where did you get the name Miss Halfway?
    I took it from one of my all-time favorite songs by Anya Marina. I laughed the first time I heard it and cried the second time because it was like she was in my brain when I was 21. I still deeply identify with it. If you haven’t heard it, hear it! 🙂
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H1MJ4xfz_dM

So! I’m sorry I didn’t get to everyone’s questions, but five is plenty and y’all are swell for asking them!

But, more importantly, let’s get to the things I’ve been dying to blog about since I went on the world’s smallest hiatus.

I finally got hit on by a lesbian at the dog park. I fight about it with Exhibit A all the time. Why?

Once, Exhibit A, Urlacher, and myself were walking into a bar. I was sandwiched between them as we handed off our IDs to the bouncer. Upon entering, we walked up to get ourselves some beer. A cute girl said “Heyyyyy” to Exhibit A, passed me over, and did the up-and-down “Hiiiii” to Urlacher.

Exhibit A once told me I looked straight when we were at Charlie’s.

This is all just the poops, y’all. I get hit on by homeless men, old men, and men who slick their hair back. Those are my three categories. Not only are they categories of men I would not date, they are men.

BUT, I was flying high after being hit on by a lesbian librarian at a fair I went to for work, and I decided something about me must be giving off ~*~queer vibes~*~ so I kept going with it. Now, the dog park thing was nothing special. I was hanging out with Exhibit A’s dog while on the phone. I hung up and she walked over and kept talking about how pretty he was (duh, he’s handsome.) But then she asked if I came there often. I almost laughed, that’s one of my constant pickup lines I use on Exhibit A. Preferably over Gchat or on her couch. (Works every time.) I then dropped a “we” bomb and she peaced out. I didn’t even realize I had done it.

Moral of the story is, finally, people are getting it.

I got myself a fresh set of bangs during my trip home and I’ve gotta say, they do make me look a little gay. Daddy don’t mind.

One thought on “mirror, mirror on the wall…

  1. Pingback: tolerance, prejudice, discrimination…oh my! « miss halfway

Leave a Reply

